Products certification

Article 4 of the Basic Regulation requires the Agency to take the responsibility for the design approval of products, parts and appliances designed, manufactured or used by persons/organisations under the regulatory oversight of the 28 EU Member States, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland, except for those excluded by its Annex II or by its Article 1.2. (products engaged in military, customs, police or similar services).

The European Commission adopted subsequently Commission Regulation (EU) No 748/2012 which specifies inter alia the requirements applicable to products, parts and appliances and also provides for the grand-fathering of pre-existing certificates under conditions that aim at ensuring that they meet the level of safety required by the Basic Regulation and its implementing rules.

Regulation (EU) No 748/2012 also includes changes resulting from four Agency Opinions and changes introduced by the European Commission.

The Basic Regulation recognised the need for some transition to facilitate the transfer of responsibility from national administrations to the Agency. Therefore, Article 67.2 of the Basic Regulation established the possibility for the Member States to continue to issue, during transition period, certificates and approvals by way of derogation of the provisions of the Basic Regulation under the conditions specified in its implementing rules, in particular Commission Regulation (EU) No 748/2012. This transition period ended on 28 March 2007.

As a consequence, the Agency's responsibilities for design related activities (Type-certificates, supplemental type-certificates, approval of changes and repair design, and other post type-certification activities, including airworthiness directives) include now the following:

  1. Products with type-certificates issued by EASA as of 28 September 2003 in accordance with Commission Regulation (EU) No 748/2012.
  2. Products with type-certificates issued by the EU Member States which are deemed to have been issued in accordance with Commission Regulation (EU) No 748/2012.
  3. Products with specific airworthiness specifications issued by EASA in accordance with the Basic Regulation, to support restricted certificates of airworthiness.

The archive containing the following lists of products is downloadable from the Download box on the top-right of the page.

  • Large Aeroplanes (CS-25)
    • Large Aeroplanes - European Products
    • Large Aeroplanes - non-European Products
  • General Aviation (CS-23, VLA and LSA)
    • Small Aeroplanes - European Products
    • Small Aeroplanes - non-European Products
  • General Aviation (CS-22)
    • Sailplanes and Powered Sailplanes - European Products
    • Sailplanes and Powered Sailplanes - non-European Products
  • Small aircraft with no TC Holder
  • Rotorcraft (CS-27 and CS-29)
    • Rotorcraft - European Products
    • Rotorcraft - non-European Products
  • Balloons (CS-31)
    • Balloons - European Products
    • Balloons - non-European Products
  • Airships (CS-30/CS-31HA)
    • Airships - European Products
    • Airships - non-European Products
  • Engines (CS-E)
    • Non-Turbine Engines - European Products
    • Non-Turbine Engines - non-European Products
    • Turbine Engines - European Products
    • Turbine Engines - non-European Products
  • Propellers (CS-P)
    • Propellers - European Products
    • Propellers - non-European Products


The EASA Type Certificate Data Sheets which are referenced in the lists are the sources to be used for information. Whilst every care has been taken in preparing the contents of the above lists to avoid errors, the Agency makes no warranty as to the accuracy, completeness or currency of the content. The Agency shall not be liable for any kind of damages or other claims or demands incurred as a result of incorrect, insufficient or invalid data, or arising out of or in connection with the use, copying, or display of the content, to the extent permitted by European and national laws. The information contained in the lists should not be construed as legal advice.

Annex II aircraft

In the recent past, EASA produced a list of Annex II aircraft, strictly for information purposes only. This 'service' is now discontinued, as the full range of products for which EASA has responsibility (see files above) has now been identified. These files will be updated, as and when necessary, thereby obviating the need for a list of aircraft for which EASA has no responsibility. Consequently, the list of Annex II aircraft has been removed from the EASA website.

EASA will retain the information on past decisions to classify certain types and models as 'Annex II' and that information will be provided by EASA, upon request.

Please note that another possible reason (i.e. other than having been classified Annex II) that a type design cannot be found in the lists provided above is that the type has not been validated in Europe. In case of doubt, contact your National Aviation Authority.